2017 Featured Guest Speaker

Bill Norwood

Bill Norwood headlines the 23rd Annual Martin Luther King Jr. Dinner Celebration.

William “Bill” Norwood, is the first African-American commercial airline pilot, a two time aviation hall of fame inductee and author of “Cleared For Takeoff: A Pilot’s Story of Challenges and Triumphs”.

View Past Speakers Here

Event Info

Wednesday January 11, 2017

5:00pm | Registration/Reception
6:00pm | Doors Open

Henkel Corporation
7201 E. Henkel Way
Scottsdale AZ, 85255

map icon

MLK Celebration

The evolution of Scottsdale MLK Dinner was initiated by CCD’s founding member, Sandra Rembrandt. Ms. Rembrandt’s vision was for Scottsdale to host its own Martin Luther King, Jr. celebration. In the early 1990’s, members from across the valley traveled to Phoenix to celebrate Dr. King’s birthday. Ms. Rembrandt had a passion for Dr. King’s legacy and felt citizens from the Scottsdale community would take pride in hosting a celebration in its own community. Today, Scottsdale’s celebration serves as a signature celebration for the entire valley that includes national renowned speakers representing a myriad of diversity perspectives honoring the history and legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

MLK Dinner Celebration:

If you didn’t have the opportunity to attend this year's MLK Celebration Dinner, you can still enjoy the program by watching it here

Meet the 2017 Diversity Champions:

Linda Groomes Walton is the founder and chief executive officer of Achieving My Purpose, a nonprofit aimed to help young women of color embrace their purpose.

As director of programs at Scottsdale Training and Rehabilitation Services, Gina Griffiths works tirelessly to improve the lives of individuals with developmental and cognitive disabilities.

2017 - Diversity Champions with Keynote Speaker (L-R) Gina Griffiths, Bill Norwood, Linda Groomes Walton

"Peaceful Flight" was chosen as the 2017 celebration theme

This year’s theme was “Peaceful Flight” which spoke to creating harmony with music and art, merging Science, Technology Engineering, Art and Music. Saguaro High School students studied instruments from other cultures and noticed how instruments were built with found objects in the environment.

Students then explored the science of music and brought in their found objects to create functional instruments. The finishing touches are symbolic of peaceful flight in honor of Bill Norwood.

Below is a small sampling of the instruments that were placed as table center pieces to be enjoyed by everyone.

2017 MLK Planning Committee

2017 - CCD MLK Planning Committee (L-R) Front Row: Michelle Marshall, Helen Gándara, Maria Luna, Linda Groomes Walton (L-R) Back Row: Kevin Richardson, Margaret Banas, Michael Keran, Joe Rusin, Peter Rusin, Susan Hagen-Smith, Kristy Hahn-McDonald, Mayor Jim Lane, Alan Rodbell, Bill Norwood, Jim Ford, Kathy Jackson, Sharon Cini, Diandra Miller, Doreen Reinke, Clif McKenzie